Nehru Trophy snake boat race 2023 alappuzha kerala india

Nehru trophy snake boat race 2023

Location: Punnamda backwaters alappuzha district.
69th edition of the Nehru Trophy Boat Race (NTBR)  held at Punnamada Lake on August 12 2023
 19 chundan vallams ( snake boats) will participate.
snake boats total 5 heats
track 1. veeyapuram  ( PBC pallathuruthy)
track 2 . vellamkulangara  ( LBC karumady)
track 3 : cherutana (KVBC kumarakom)
track 4 : sree mahadevan  (MBC mankombu)

track 1.  devas ( PBC punnamada)
track 2: nadubhagam (ubc kainakary)
track3: st george (sbc thekkekara)
track 4: champakulam (KTBC kumarakam)


track 1.  sree vinayakan (SHBC kainakary)
track 2: payipadan (KBC kumarakom)
track 3: kattil thekkethil (KPBC kerala)

track 4: ayaparambu pandi (LBC chenangari)

track 1 : st pious  (NBC niranam)      
track 2: anari ( sbc kumarakom)
track 3: talavady ( TBC talavady)
track 4:  Jawahar (KBC  kodupunna)

track 1: karichal  ( VBC kainakary)
track 2: alapadan (NBRA kochi)
track 3: NIL
track 4:  Niranam (KNCDC kaipuzhamuttu kumarakom)

kattil thekkethil





The race is held in four main categories Chundan : Is the lord of the race. It can accomodate about 100 oarsmen who can produce 90 to 120strokes per minute, the 100 foot chundan can cover a distance of 1.4 kms in about 5 minutes. The first design of a chundan was submitted by Kodupunna Venkitanarayanan Asari . Because of the eel like structure these boats are called snake boats by foreigners .
Iruttukuthi A, B
Veppu.A B
thekkanodi thara
thekkanodi kettu

 . .

Nehru trophy results 2023

Chundan snake boat category : Winner Nehru Trophy 2023 veeyapuram chundan rowed by pallathuruthy boat club
Eruttukuthy A grade:  moonu thaikkal
Eruttukuthy B Grade: thuruthipuram
Eruttukuthy C Grade: vadakkumpuram
Veppu A Grade: ambalakadavan
Veppu B Grade: p g karipuzha
Churulan: moozhi
thekkan odi thara (women) : kattil thekkethil
Thekkan odi (women) Kettu: kattil thekku
. .... .

registered snake boats 2023

karichal chundan  rowed by village boat club kainakary
jawahar tayangari  rowed by kodupunna boat club
anari chundan rowed by samudra boat club kumarakam
nadubhagam chundan rowed by UBC kainakary
alappadan puthen chundan rowed  by IBRA ernakulam
devas chundan rowed by pbc alapppuzha
st pious X chundan rowed y niranam boat club
veeyapuram chundan rowed by pallathuruthy boat club
vellamkuangara chundan rowed by luna boat club
ayaparambu pandi chundan rowed by lourde matha boat club
mahadevikad kattil thekkethil chundan ploice boat club alappuzha
karuvatta sree vinayakan chundan rowed by sh boat club kainakary
niranam chundan rowed by NCDC boat club kumarakom
champakulam chundan rowed by kumarakom town boat club
thalavady chundan rowed by talavady town boat club
cheruthana chundan
payippad chundan
st george chundan
sree mahadevan chundan  rowed by mankombu boat club

. .

The Nehru trophy

In 1952 the then prime minister of India Shri Jawaharlal Nehru on his visit to kerala took the water route from Kottayam to Alappuzha. A race was organised in his honour. The victor of the race was Nadumbaghom chundan. Nehru was so excited seeing the race that he leapt on to the boat and congratulated the winners

Later that year he send a token of his appreciation - a miniature silver chundan
mounted on a ebony case. The plaque on the trophy bears the following inscription above his
signature " To the winners of the boat race which is a unique feature of community life in
Travancore - CochinThere after the event became an annual feature named prime minister's trophy boat race and is
held on the second saturday of August every year. After nehru's death it was renamed as Nehru Trophy