Home | Nehru Trophy Boat Race | Snake Boats | Snake Boat Races |snake boat gallery


Nehru trophy boat race 2012


Sreeganeshan chundan ( snake boat ) rowed by Kainakary Freedom Boat Club wins the nehru trophy boat race for 2012.

There is going to be a tough fight in all the heats of the nehru trophy boat race this year Jesus Boat Club with ‘Anari’, Kumarakom Town Boat Club's ‘Jawahar Thayankary’ and Kumarakom Village Boat Club ‘Illikkalam’ , United Boat Club, Kainakary's ‘Muttel Kainakary’, Thiruvarp Boat Club’s Karichal and ‘Ayaparambu Valiya Diwanji’ of Friends Boat Club

Vellamkulngara, Kumarakom Boat Club’s Cheruthana, Kollam Town Boat Club’s Champakulam and Kuttanad Boat Club’s ‘Ayaparambu Pandi’.
; Payyipad boat Club’s ‘Payyipad’, Kainakary Freedom Boat Club's ‘Sreeganeshan’, Manchadikari Angel Boat Club's Devas, and Paravoor Amrita Boat Club’s ‘Srivinayakan’ are the main contenders to look out for.

Chundan (Snake Boat)

Heats I: Pulikkunnu, Anari, Jawahar Thayankari, Illikkalam.

Heats II: Muttel Kainakary, Vellamkulangara, Karichal, Ayaparambu Valiya Diwanji.

Heats III: Ayaparambu Pandi, Karuvatta, Chambakulam, Cheruthana.

Heats IV: Payippadan, Devas, Sreeganesh, Karuvatta Srivinayakan.

Veppu A grade:

Heats I: Ambalakadavan, Jaishot, Udayam Paramban, Vengazhi.

Heats II: Venugopal, Kottaparamban, Ashapulikkakkalam, Patteripurakkal. (outside the track --demonstration,not for contest:Varikkalam)

Veppu B Grade:

Final: Punnathrapurakkal, Delhi, Ottathekkal, Chiramel Thottukadavan. (outside the track: duke)

A total of 64 boats have registered for the 60th Nehru Trophy Boat Race to be held on August 11. out of the 64 boats, 20 are chundan (snake boats), nine Veppu A grade, five Veppu B Grade, six Iruttukuthi A Grade, 17 Iruttukuthi B Grade, three churulan and four Thekkanodi.
The 6oth edition of the Nehru trophy baot race will be a three day event
Day 1:
Knockout heats for the small boats
Knock out heats for boats rowed by women
an exhibition race by snake boats.


Day 2:

canoeing, kayaking and speedboat races

Day 3:

knockout heats of the snake boats and their final and the contests of those boats which qualified to the final from the first day's contest.

Programmes will be organised in Haripad, Chengannur, Kuttanad, Cherthala and Kumarakom for publicity of the race









contact: mtcherian@yahoo.com
This site is designed, developed and maintained by m t cherian