Nehru trophy snake boat race at punnamada lake in alappuzha kerala state India

History : In 1952 the then prime minister of India Shri Jawaharlal Nehru on his visit to kerala
took the water route from Kottayam to Alappuzha. A race was organised in his honour. The victor
of the race was Nadumbaghom chundan. Nehru was so excited seeing the race that he leapt on to
the boat and congratulated the winners.

66th Nehru Trophy boat race scheduled on August 11 th 2018 (postponed due to floods in kerala)

65th Nehrutrophyboat race august 12th 2017
64th Nehrutrophy boat race on august 13 th 2016


The Trophy: Later that year he send a token of his appreciation - a miniature silver chundan
mounted on a ebony case. The plaque on the trophy bears the following inscription above his
signature " To the winners of the boat race which is a unique feature of community life in
Travancore - Cochin "

There after the event became an annual feature named prime minister's trophy boat race and is
held on the second saturday of August every year. After nehru's death it was renamed as Nehru Trophy.

The race is held in four main categories



63rd edition  August 8th 2015
62nd edition on august 9th 2014

Whom to contact for more details of the race
Convener, Nehru Trophy Publicity Committee, District Information Office, Civil Station, Alappuzha, PIN – 688 001
civil station alappuzha 688 001
phone: +91 477 2251349


News on past nehru trophy races

61st edition august 2013

60 th edition of the race August 9, 10, 11 2012 and associated celebrations >>>

59th edition to be held on August 13th 2011 <<click for details


58th Nehru trophy boat race on August 14 th 2010
President of India Mrs. Pratiba Patil inaugurated the race.
Jawahar tayangiri snake boats wins Nehru Trophy

The first prize winner for the chundan category, would get a bonus of Rs.1.2 lakh .
The second place would be eligible for Rs.1.1 lakh The boat that finished third would get Rs.90,000.
The chundan in the fourth place would be given Rs.75,000.
The Veppu A grade boats would be given Rs.37,000 , while Veppu B grade boats would get Rs.27,000 .
The churulan boats would receive a bonus of Rs.20,000 (Rs.17,000).
Boats in the iruttukuthi A grade would get Rs.37,000 while
B grade boats would get Rs.27,000 .
The thekkenodi boats, used by women contestants, would get Rs.30,000.
The maintenance grant for the boats for chundans,is Rs.12,000 .


Chundan: Is the lord of the race. It can accomodate about 100 oarsmen who can produce 90 to 120strokes per minute, the 100 foot chundan can cover a distance of 1.4 kms in about 5 minutes.

The first design of a chundan was submitted by Kodupunna Venkitanarayanan Asari . Because of the eel like structure these boats are called snake boats by foreigners

click >>> for more about chundan vallams or snakeboats >>>

houseboats kerala alappuzha kumarakom

57th Nehru trophy boat race was held on August 8th 2009

56th Nehru Trophy Boat Race
was held on 9th August 2008 at Punnamada Lake, Alappuzha kerala India

Sixteen chudan vallams (snake boats ), alltogether forty seven boats in various categories will take part in the race in 2008.

Chundan category

winner Karichal chundan

1st heats

Anaari puthenchundan

Alapatt Puthenchundan



2nd heats

St George

Jawahar Tayangiri

Ayaaparamba Valiyadewanji


3rd heats






4th heats

Pattara chundan

Sree Ganesh

Karuvatta sree vinayaka





The other categories are Veppu and Eruttukuthy



The 54th Nehru Trophy Boat Race was held on August 12th 2006.

A total of 60 crafts including 18 chundans ( snake boats) participated in the race. It can be
safely called the biggest regatta of the sub continent.













This site is designed, developed and maintained by m t cherian