Nehru Trophy snake boat race 2019 alappuzha kerala india

Nehru trophy snake boat race 2019

Location: Punnamda backwaters alappuzha district.
67th edition of the Nehru Trophy Boat Race (NTBR)  held at Punnamada Lake on August 10 2019.
Seventy-eight boats  participated in different categories .Chundan vallams (snakeboats) category 25 boats Iruttu kuthi (A) 26 boats Churulan category 4 boats. iruttu kuthi (B) category 4 boats Veppu (A) category 9 boats Veppu (B) category 7 boats Thekkanodi category for women 3 boats



In 1952 the then prime minister of India Shri Jawaharlal Nehru on his visit to kerala took the water route from Kottayam to Alappuzha. A race was organised in his honour. The victor of the race was Nadumbaghom chundan. Nehru was so excited seeing the race that he leapt on to the boat and congratulated the winners. . .

Later that year he send a token of his appreciation - a miniature silver chundan
mounted on a ebony case. The plaque on the trophy bears the following inscription above his
signature " To the winners of the boat race which is a unique feature of community life in
Travancore - CochinThere after the event became an annual feature named prime minister's trophy boat race and is
held on the second saturday of August every year. After nehru's death it was renamed as Nehru Trophy. .... .


The race is held in four main categories Chundan : Is the lord of the race. It can accomodate about 100 oarsmen who can produce 90 to 120strokes per minute, the 100 foot chundan can cover a distance of 1.4 kms in about 5 minutes. The first design of a chundan was submitted by Kodupunna Venkitanarayanan Asari . Because of the eel like structure these boats are called snake boats by foreigners Churulan Iruttukuthi Veppu. .

Nehry trophy boat race 2018 results

Chundan snake boat : Winner Nehru Trophy  Payipadan chundan snake boat rowed by pallathuruthy boat club
Eruttukuthy A grade: Thuruthithara rowed by TBC kochin town
Eruttukuthy B Grade: Gothuruthuputhran rowed by TBC Cochin town
Eruttukuthy C Grade:  Cheruya Pandithan TBC Cochin town
Veppu A Grade: Ambalakadavan rowed by nattakam Boat club
Veppu B Grade: P G Kazhipuzha rowed by parippu boat club ayamanam
Churulan: Kodimatha malarvadi boat club north paravoor
Thekkan odi (women) Kettuvallam: Company: Aiswarya boat club karumadi
Thekan odi (women) Thara vallam Puthuran boat club tathampalli .