champakulam moolam boat race 2012
Date of Race: july 3rd 2012

sree ganesh chundan (snakeboat) rowed by kainakary star boat club is the winner in the champakulam moolam boat race 2012 and wins the rajapramukhan trophy

Dating back to 1545 AD The Moolam Boat Race, which falls on the ‘moolam’ day as per the Malayalam calendar, , when the Chempakassery Raja ( king) deputed a team to take an idol of Lord Krishna from Kurichi Karikkulam Temple to replace the one for the famous Ambalapuzha Sree Krishna Temple.

The Raja’s ( king's) team on their return reached Champakulam by late evening and could not continue their journey in the dark. The idol and the Raja’s team were given shelter for the night by a Christian family.

The next day, on moolam , the Raja (king) and his team came in country boats and took the idol to the temple.
The boat race has been conducted every year from then to commemorate that occasion.


Trophy: Winner of the snake boat race will be presented the `Rajapramukhan’ trophy in silver with gold covering gifted by the late Maharaja of erstwhile Travancore, Sree Chitira Thirunal Maharaja.

It is noted for its communal amity with the active participation of the Mappilassery Tharavadu, an ancient Christian Tharavadu, The rituals are still performed at the Ambalappuzha Sree Krishna Temple, Nedumudi Madathil Temple, Mappilassery Tharavadu and Kaloorkkadu Forane Church which is an indication of the secular nature of this 450 years old race.

27 boats including 9 snake boats ( chundans)




cheruthana chundan ( snake boat) rowed kavalam baot club
karuvatta puthen chundan ( snake boat) chengamgari CBC boat club

madhava valsalan ( snake boat ) chenangari lourde matha boat club

sree ganeshan kainakary star boat club
karuvatta sreevinakayan chengamgiri devamatha boat club

pullinkunnu rowed by chaluthyari gurudeva boat club

alappatt rowed by chembupuram narboma boat club

illikalam rowed kumarakom village boat club

champakulam rowed kollam town boat club

six A grade Veppu boats,

three A Grade Odi boats,

two B Grade Veppu boats,

six B Grade Odi boats,

three Churulan boats,

will participate in the race



Karuvatta sree vinayakan
jawahar tayangari
karuvatta puthenchundan ( snake boat)
anaari chundan ( snake boat)

veppu A grade


Asha pullikakalam
Jay shot


veppu B grade
chirammel thottukadavan


odi A grade



Dai No 1

Odi B grade

St sebastian
Sree guruvayoorappan


vengarayil puthenveedu






This site is designed, developed and maintained by m t cherian