champakulam moolam boat race 2013
Date of Race: sunday june 23rd 2013

Sreeganesh chundan' rowed by Star Boat Club, Haripad won the rajapramukhan trophy 2013
Jawahar Thayankari’, rowed by the Kumarakom boat club, finished second
Karichal’, rowed by the Lourde Matha Boat Club, Chennankari, finished third.

five A grade veppu boats, four A grade Odi boats, five B grade Odi boats, four churulan boats and 3 B grade veppu boats participated in the other categories.

The captain's clinic was held on june 14 th.

Governor Nikhil Kumar will inaugurate the race. Altogether 29 country boats, including nine snake boats, will be competing in the race.
The different categories are:

Snake boats

Churulan boats, having only 30 oarsmen
Veppu boats: A grade boats have about 65 oarsmen
Iruttukuthi boats are known for its shape and can move at great speed


Champakulam Boat Race, Kerala is a traditional and annual snake boat race of Kerala. Champakulam Boat Race is conducted on the moolam nakshtram or star in the month of mithunam on the holy river pamba. Its one of the oldest and the most significant snake boat races in Kerala has history dating back to 1545 A.D and it directly associated with the Sree Krishna Temple at Ambalappuzha. The race is about 450 plus years old.

The winner team is presented the rajapramukhan trophy.

How to reach the venue:

Champakulam is 13 kms from kalarcode junction ( close to alappuzha town) towards changanacherry.


veppu A grade


Asha pullikakalam
Jay shot


veppu B grade
chirammel thottukadavan


odi A grade



Dai No 1

Odi B grade

St sebastian
Sree guruvayoorappan


vengarayil puthenveedu






This site is designed, developed and maintained by m t cherian