Home | Nehru Trophy Boat Race | Snake Boats | Snake Boat Races


Nehru trophy boat race 2013
61st edition

2nd saturday august 10 th 2013

convener nehru trophy publiity committee
district information office

civil station alappuzha 688 001
phone: 0477 2251349

results of nehru trohpy boat race 2013
sree ganesh chundan wins nehru trophy boat race .

Sree Ganesan rowed by St. Francis Boat Club, Harippad, won the 61st Nehru Trophy Boat Race . The boat covered 1.25-km race course in four minutes 33 seconds.
This is the second time in a row that Sree Ganesan is winning the trophy

Jawahar Thayankari rowed by Kumarakom Boat Club’s came second at four minutes and 50 seconds.
Anaari rowed by UBC Kainakari came third at four minutes and 51 seconds.

Loser's final: The Kumarakom Village Boat Club’s Payippadan came first and Devaas of the Kollam Jesus Boat Club came second.
Veppu A grade boats : Chiramel Thottukadavan of the Mamkombu Pius X Boat Club came first iPunnathra Purakkal of the Chennankari Lourde Matha Boat Club came second.

Veppu B grade boats: Kottapparamaban rowed by Kochi Town Thannothithuruthu Boat Club came first
Ambalakkadavan of the Karunagapally Karunya Boat Club came second.

Iruttukuthi A Grade boats.:Moonnuthaikka rowed by Veliyanadu Jayashree Boat Club’s came first.

The number of persons on snake boats have now been limited to 101, which include 85 oarsmen, five helmsmen, and seven singers in addition to two “idiyaalls” playing the rhythmic beats.

shedule for nehru trophy boat race 2013
1st heats

Jawahar Tayangiri

2nd heats
Ayaaparamba Valiyadewanji
Anaari puthenchundan


3rd heats



karuvatta puthen chundan

4th heats

ayaparambu pandi

sree ganeshan
karuvatta sree vinayakan




nehru trophy 2013 schedule of races




History : In 1952 the then prime minister of India Shri Jawaharlal Nehru on his visit to kerala
took the water route from Kottayam to Alappuzha. A race was organised in his honour. The victor
of the race was Nadumbaghom chundan. Nehru was so excited seeing the race that he leapt on to
the boat and congratulated the winners.

The Trophy: Later that year he send a token of his appreciation - a miniature silver chundan
mounted on a ebony case. The plaque on the trophy bears the following inscription above his
signature " To the winners of the boat race which is a unique feature of community life in
Travancore - Cochin "

There after the event became an annual feature named prime minister's trophy boat race and is
held on the second saturday of August every year. After nehru's death it was renamed as Nehru Trophy




contact: mtcherian@yahoo.com
This site is designed, developed and maintained by m t cherian